Log in

SEED grants awarded to Southeast Kansas organizations


PITTSBURG, Kan. — Lt. Gov. and Secretary of Commerce David Toland on Friday announced award recipients for the new Strategic Economic Expansion and Development (SEED) grant program, including more than a dozen in Southeast Kansas that will receive a total of more than $585,000. 

“SEED grants provide funding for quality-of-life enhancements in some of our state’s smallest communities,” said Toland. “These investments will set the stage for future economic development success and prosperity across the state.”   

Awardees are located in communities with a population of 5,000 or less, and are required to provide a minimum 10 percent match as well as complete the projects within 12 months. Projects must be focused on economic development and revitalization efforts in one of four categories: childcare and senior programming, community vibrancy, food retail, or library projects. In total, 61 recipients will receive nearly $2.7 million to invest in small communities across the state.   

In Southeast Kansas, grant recipients include Thrive Allen County, which is receiving $49,125, Anderson County Development Agency, which will receive $43,860, the Healthy Bourbon County Action Team, receiving $33,882, the City of Sedan in Chautauqua County, which will receive $49,125, the Weir & Galena Public Library in Cherokee County, receiving $32,118, and the Elk County Community Foundation, which will receive $49,125. 

Others include the City of Eureka in Greenwood County, receiving $49,125, the City of Edna in Labette County, which will receive $49,125, Linn County Library District 1, receiving $49,125, the City of Cherryvale in Montgomery County, which will receive $46,875, the Thayer FRC City Library in Neosho County, receiving $35,687, the City of Fredonia in Wilson County, which will receive $49,125, and Woodson County Revitalization Alliance/Revitalize YC, receiving $49,125.  

Funding for the SEED program, which is administered by the Kansas Department of Commerce, is provided through the Technology Enabled Fiduciary Financial Institutions (TEFFI) Development and Expansion Fund. The TEFFI Act was enacted in 2021 through bipartisan legislation to promote economic development throughout the state, according to a Kansas Department of Commerce press release.